Categories of ASD

“I heard that there are different types of autism, like there are multiple autism spectrum disorders. What does that mean?” While there used to be what was considered different “types” of autism, psychiatrists have now categorized four diagnoses as part of ASD. These are: Asperger’s Syndrome, Pervasive Developmental Disorder Not Otherwise Specified (PDD-NOS), Autistic Disorder, and Childhood Disintegrative Disorder. Once you’ve meet one person with autism, you’ve just met one person with autism! 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s